A Little Summer Update

I thought I’d get a chance to catch my breath this summer. Slow down, relax, catch an extra gulp of air here and there. Turns out it just wasn’t meant to be, but that seems to be the story of my life these days. I think I’m getting used to it. In any case, I’ve spent a lot of great time with my kids and watching them grow into the people they’ve been created to be has filled me up in ways I didn’t know was possible. It’s the kind of reflection parents need to keep us going–remember that the hard work is worth it, and never really done.

In the meantime, I’ve worked on a few projects that have come to light that I thought would be fun to share.

An essay I wrote got accepted as a chapter in a book called Always There which came out in April. Another short piece I wrote on forgiveness landed on my doorstep last week as part of the Everyday Matters Bible for Women and I worked behind the scenes to give some editorial direction for Lisa Chan’s new video series True Beauty produced by Flannel and my friend Steve Carr (more on that to come).

I’m continuing to manage the FullFill blog for my friend Elisa Morgan and had a piece on friendship in the spring digizine and wrote this recent blog post. And writing for the Redbud blog always makes my heart sing (my latest post here). I just wrapped up a piece for a print publication on youth depression based on the IVP book When Life Goes Dark by Richard Winter that will come out this fall. My most recent post at Strangely Dim just went up yesterday, which I have to admit, I kind of like. I’ll leave you with a small excerpt below which you can click through to keep reading (please do!).

As for you, I hope you’re enjoying the last moments of summer and remembering to catch a little breath yourself.

*****

One of my favorite moments of the 2012 Olympic Games was when Great Britain’s Jessica Ennis snagged a gold medal in the heptathlon. If you didn’t see it, I’m sorry you missed it. Headed into the last event of the competition–the dreaded 800 meters–all Ennis had to do was finish respectably and she’d win gold. But with an entire stadium on their feet, and an entire country’s hopes pinned on her shoulders, Ennis did more than just finish respectably. She smoked the pack. Nike must have been on to something: she totally found her greatness.

I think I wept.

Continue Reading . . . (scroll down one post)

Leave a Reply

