Behind the Books

I recently told a friend that I feel like I start every sentence with, “Since I went back to work…”

And I’m pretty sure I do.

Because I say it so often, friends, family and acquaintances ask (just as often) how it’s going. To which I always answer, “Good. Hard, but good.” And then inevitably they follow with something like this, “Now what exactly are you doing?”

I wrote the following post for a blog at work called “Behind the Books.” It’s a behind-the-scene look at some of the things we do at InterVarsity Press, the publishing house where I work. The post is about an Anti-Trafficking tour I spent months helping to organize.  For those of you who’ve asked more about my work, I thought you might enjoy reading it.  For those of you who haven’t (sorry!), it is written on the important topic of the global, commericial sex industry (which I also wrote more about here) so I hope you’ll learn something nonetheless.

As always, thanks for stopping by.

“It was late Wednesday night when we finally met.  After circling the airport three times, I spotted him in black dress pants and a dark winter coat.  After months of planning, plotting, strategizing, exchanging emails, and conference-calling, Daniel Walker, author of God in a Brothel: An Undercover Journey into Sex Trafficking and Rescue, had finally touched down in Chicago.

I was busting at the seams.

The Anti Trafficking Tour that had begun in California exactly one week earlier was already a success. Kicking off with the Global Forum on Human Trafficking and followed by college and church events, crowds of all ages were responding to Daniel’s message about modern-day slavery. But while my coworkers and I had heard great reports from the field (our online publicist Adrianna Wright, who had accompanied Daniel to California, told us, “He’s pretty much a rock star”), I don’t think any of us were prepared to hear Daniel’s story firsthand.

Read More

Leave a Reply

