Blog Redux

When I started this blog a little more than a year ago, I did it because I wanted to write more. I wanted something that would keep me disciplined with the keys and would give my small world something to look at when I told them I liked to write. Besides, taking the leap to let others have such free access to your thoughts without any control over how pathetic or awful or odd they think you are is a necessary coming out for anyone who wants to become a better writer.

One mistake I made was starting this blog a week before I went back to work for the first time in eight years. When I first went back, I wasn’t working as many hours and found ways to squeeze in writing throughout my days. But after a few months, I switched positions, increased my hours and found myself in a new rhythm of life that has left me a breathless working mom ever since.

I’m not complaining. I love my job and my kids are at fun ages. Although I have to admit, with kids ages 8 & 9 I thought parenting might get easier, and I supposed in some ways it has, but no less demanding. (Since I got up early to enjoy a quiet house, my daughter, Sadie, has already stumbled out of bed, showed me the marks her pjs left on her side, told me we forgot to take the barrette out of her hair last night, turned on Cupcake Wars and made me watch a Popeye’s chicken commercial that she and my husband think is the funniest thing they’ve ever seen.)

Like you, I’m sure, I just don’t have enough hours in my day to do everything I want or need to do.

So, all this to say, I have been thinking about how to blog smarter and faster and in a way that doesn’t cause chaos in my house every time I flip open my laptop. I’ve been thinking about how to keep using this venue as a discipline to write without skipping my workout, ignoring my husband or snapping at my kids.

I’ve decided to try shorter and more frequently and see if it works.

Wish me luck.

Kid number two is awake and begging for pancakes.

3 thoughts on “Blog Redux

  1. As much as I LOVE reading your blogg – I totally get your need to re-define your margin. Something a lot of people don’t understand is that margin is never static – it’s always changing as our lives or circumstances change. You are very wise to recognize this (even though if you’re like me – it’s always later than when I wish I would have recognized things…. I can be stubborn or think I’m Superman to be sure).

    You do have a gift and I will look forward to reading your columns in the future – but don’t bend to the “guilts” that any of us may unintentionally put on you. The author of Margin, Richard Swenson says this: “It is God the Creator who made limits and it is the same God who placed them within us, for our protection. We exceed them at our own peril.” I think about this one a lot!! Blessings to you, Eric and the kids. Pete

    Like

Leave a Reply

