What Women Tell Me: Giveaway Winner

As promised, I asked Anita Lustrea, author of What Women Tell Me: Finding Freedom from the Secrets We Keep to select a “winner” from the comments on the recent post Finding Freedom with Anita Lustrea who will receive a  free autographed copy of her book.

Anita kept her part of the bargain and chose Vicki Robertson from Hookstown, Pa. (near Pittsburgh, home of the soon-to-be 2011 Superbowl Champs). Anita was drawn to Vicki’s reference to Galatians 5:1, the same reference with which Anita signs all of her books and in her words, “most spoke to the message of the book.”

I was pleased about Anita’s pick because Vicki is my longest running friend. Hers was the house I’d come to know as well as my own; hers was the mom who drug us to church after a Saturday night sleepover; hers was the pastor who first shared the gospel with me (and consequently scared the crap out of me); hers was the Christmas play I somehow got the lead in and hers was the church basement in which I hid (after that very play) when I first experienced the weight of God’s love.

For my tenth birthday, she bought me my first Bible — one that still sits on my shelf today. On the inside cover is this inscription: To Suanne, From Vicki. On your 10th Birthday, July 19, 1985. Friends Forever.

Now that makes me smile.

She has the three most polite, well-behaved kids I know, never forgets a name or face (and I mean never) and knows me well enough to believe she may not see Anita’s book until I come to visit again next summer. Ah, but Vic, I promise, I’ll fight against my nature and put it in the mail next week. You, my friend, deserve it. Thanks for being part of my journey and more importantly, thanks for being a woman who knows how to walk in the freedom she’s been given.

As for the rest of you, please be sure to check out Anita’s website, listen to her on Midday Connection (with co-host Melinda Schmidt) and buy her book. (Of course, you can also find her at Redbud Writer’s Guild.)

Anita’s voice is worth getting to know. It’s a voice that, as she says in her book,”desperately wants women to walk in the fullness of who God created them to be, to walk in freedom.”

It’s a voice that wants those same women to live out the truth and spirit of Galatians 5:1: “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.”

May it be true for you today.

2 thoughts on “What Women Tell Me: Giveaway Winner

  1. Suanne-

    I have been moved to tears. Love you! You know that I love to find a little freedom from daily life in the pages of a good book. I’ll be looking for it in the mail…and if I don’t see it until summer, you know that I’ll will show you grace and mercy. 🙂

    Thank you, Anita! I hope to make it to Chicago sometime soon and maybe have the opportunity to meet you in person. And the other ladies that have inpired one of my oldest friends to follow her passion.

    Love,
    Vicki

    Like

Leave a Reply

