Four Billion and One

Just what the world needs, another blog. I know.

You’d think with something crazy like two new blogs per second, we’d give it a rest. That at some point, increasingly addicted—and dare I say, often egocentric—cyber junkies would short circuit on clicking and linking and twittering and facebooking and in one exasperated grunt shout: Enough! There’s just not room for one more voice! (Slightly ridiculous considering it’s the Internet, but don’t worry, you’ll come to know and…well, know me anyway, for such nonsensical ((i.e. pathetically insecure)) musings.)

The thing is, whether the space is overcrowded (or not) is completely irrelevant. So is the number of people who come to read this quirky little blog. (And believe me, statistically speaking it won’t be many.) What compels me to throw my hat in the ring is not the allure of a growing community who ‘likes’ me with a momentary click, but rather the soulful evolution that occurs when my own cluttered thoughts find a meaningful escape.

Because let’s face it, I won’t say anything you haven’t heard before.

In the words of Anne Lamott, “Life is a recycling center, where all the concerns and dramas of humankind get recycled back and forth across the universe.”

Depressing, especially for a writer, until you read the next line.

“But what you have to offer is your own sensibility, maybe your own sense of humor or insider pathos or meaning. All of us can sing the same song, and there will still be four billion different renditions.”

Might as well make it four billion and one. Who knows, maybe it’ll be a rendition to which you’d like to hum along, maybe even add a few notes of your own. Stop back and listen when you get a chance. I’ll be here, tapping away until I find my own tune.

 

One thought on “Four Billion and One

Leave a Reply

